Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Green Rating Systems

BREEAM Rating System

BREEAM (BRE Environmental Assessment Method) was first launched in 1990.

BREEAM recognizes building performance in nine key areas: Management, Energy, Water, Land Use & Ecology, Health & Wellbeing, Transport, Materials, Waste and Pollution.

The certification process is managed by an accredited individual: BREEAM Assessor.

BREEAM can be used to assess the environmental performance of any type of building, new and existing and is an internationally recognized certification scheme, setting the standard for sustainable buildings.

There are final levels of certification: Pass, Good, Very Good, Excellent and Outstanding.

There are international BREEAM schemes:

  • BREEAM Gulf (for any building type)
  • BREEAM Europe Commercial (Offices, Retail and Industrial)

A BREEAM assessment can be carried out at the above stages for the following types of building project:

  • Whole new buildings
  • Major refurbishments of existing buildings
  • New build extensions to existing buildings 
  • A combination of new-build and existing building refurbishment
  • New build or refurbishments which are part of a larger mixed use building
  • Building fit-out
  • Existing buildings can be assessed under BREEAM In-Use Scheme