Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Green Rating Systems

LEED Rating System

LEED, or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design was developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) in 2000.

LEED is internationally recognized mark which is a source of information for building owners and tenants instructing them how to implement practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions

LEED recognizes building performance in five key areas: Sustainable Site development, Water savings, Energy efficiency, Materials selection and Indoor Environmental Quality.

The certification process is managed by an accredited individual named LEED Accredited Professional. There are final levels of certification: Certified, Silver, Gold, Platinum.

There are a few LEED Rating Systems provide to guide and distinguish high-performance buildings:

  • New Construction - dedicated to commercial and institutional buildings;
  • Existing Buildings: Operations & Maintenance - dedicated to existing commercial buildings;
  • Commercial Interiors - dedicated to certify green interiors;
  • Core & Shell - is a green building rating system for designers, builders, developers
    and new building owners who want to address sustainable design for new core and shell construction
  • Schools
  • Retail
  • Healthcare
  • Homes - promotes the design and construction of high-performance green homes.
  • Neighborhood Development - promotes the design and construction of high-performance Neighborhoods.